Return of the Blogger!

Alright, alright – I don’t even want to hear it! I’ve taken quite the e-sabbatical, but I feel I take far too many pictures and buy far too many things to neglect the art of blogging any longer. So I’m back – hopefully for longer than the previous three week attempt – and extremely ready to share where I live and what I live for. So lets put this whole absentee blogger thing behind us and move along as if noooothing ever happened…

This weekend my mom and I will head down southways and attempt our hand at shopping, antiquing, and American picking at the infamous Antique Weekend in Round Top, TX. It’s said to be an incredible treasure trove, and I can’t wait to see what we find!

As I needed to prepare for shopping strength, my husband encouraged the preparation of a “healthy” (carbo-loado? perhaps) Garden Chicken pizza. Surprisingly, it turned out absolutely delicious and quite beautiful.

I use the word surprisingly because I am cooking-impaired. I just don’t have that wacky gene that allows some individuals to patiently count out little tablespoons and use a mixer without spraying some sort of concoction all over the cabinet walls. But here was a safe attempt tonight at the Johnson residence – yes, I’m quite proud – and here is my weak attempt at giving you the low down of our make-believe recipe.

1 Flat Bread Crust (from local favorite Central Market)

2 Packs of pre-cooked chopped Chicken (because we wanted a speedier process!)

Green Onion (at discretion)

Chopped tomatos

1 Extremely fresh Bell Pepper

Fresh Cilantro

Ranch-style Salad Dressing (Weird, I know, but tasty!)

EVOO (for drizzles)

Lots of Mozarella Cheese

Lots of Cheddar Cheese

1. Set oven for 350 degrees. Cook chicken. Lightly grease a pizza pan or medium baking sheet.

2. On flatbread, lightly drizzle on EVOO. Then spread ranch dressing over (pretty thinly, if I may say so).

3. Sprinkle on mozzarella cheese. Place tomatoes, green onion, and chicken on top of mozzarella cheese, then top with Cheddar cheese.

4. Pop in oven for 15-20 minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Easy. Cleanly. Tasty. Worthy.

Leave a Note

